Baking · Gluten Free

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

cookies_7_wm.jpg

I’m one of those oddball procrastinators who, instead of watching t.v., napping or playing videogames whenever I don’t want to write, I bake cookies. It’s a good thing that I am productive, otherwise my kitchen would be as well stocked as a bakery! Well, my kitchen is sort of like a bakery in that I always have baking items on hand. I had a few bags of semi chocolate chips handy that I grabbed during a sale a few months ago, still fresh and just calling out to be used somehow.

This recipe is pretty simple. I like to change up my GF mixes, try different blends and flavors. You can use your own gluten-free flour mix, whether homemade or store brand, and it’ll work pretty much the same way. I always recommend using flours that are not as strong in flavor for cookie recipes, otherwise the cookies will have a bitter aftertaste. I find that using coconut and almond flours in butter-based recipes creates a nice flavor combination.

I ordered these large 6 inch round cookie cutters from Amazon. I wanted to try them out by making gigantic cookies, but settled on a small batch because, well, I’m a big advocate for portion control (even though I don’t look like it, LOL!). There’s no real reason for any adult to eat a cookie the width of a small dinner plate…well…unless it’s a cheat day.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies (Organic)

Ingredients

1 c. brown rice flour

1 c. almond flour

¼ c. coconut flour

¾ t. xantham gum

1 t. baking soda

2 c. Semi-sweet chocolate chips

¾ c. light brown sugar, organic

¾ c. granulated sugar, organic

2 sticks unsalted butter, grass fed, softened at room temperature

1 t. Fine sea salt

2 t. Vanilla extract

2 large eggs, organic

Instructions

In a small bowl, cream sugars, egg, butter, and vanilla. Set aside.

In another bowl, blend flours, xantham gum, baking soda and salt. Add dry mixture into wet by folding until well combined.

Fold in chocolate chips. Do not overmix.

Pour dough onto parchment paper, wrap, and chill for 5-7 hours until dough is firm enough to roll into balls.

Remove from fridge.

Grease a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray (or a little butter).

Using a tablespoon, scoop dough and roll into balls.

Place dough onto greased cookie sheet, 1-2 inches apart.

Bake at 375° F for 22-25 minutes until golden brown.

Remove cookies and place on a cookie tray.

© 2017 • CoffeeCupcakesKafka

 

Leave a Reply

