Baking · Gluten Free · Pies & Cakes

Gluten-Free Apple Crumb Pie

GFAppleCrumbPie_wm2 - Copy.jpg

Off to a barbecue. As an introvert, socializing takes me out of my natural habitat, away from my books, my bed, my home, away from people J. As I write this, it’s 7:49 in the morning, and all I’m thinking of is 634,634,873,408,083 excuses to back out. I want to be home, in my pajamas, in my bed, with a book.

But then I remember that the upside is I’ll get to bake some pies. I bake pies for every barbecue I go to barbecue. As summer baking goes, apple pies are a sure thing.

I go into the kitchen and immediately retreat into the world of apple pie making. I cut cold butter, flour, and water together, peel and slice apples. And what happens with me, as it always does, is that the baking calms my goofy thoughts, the anxiety disappears, and the stress melts away with the time.

I am happy with the pie. It is a great pie. And the best thing about a great pie is that people will be too busy eating to notice that I’ve snuck off to a quiet area of my friend’s house to read the small book I’ve brought in I’ve purse.

The power of pie!

(Happy Fourth of July 4th!)

 

Gluten-Free Apple Crumb Pie

Crust

¾ t. xantham gum

1 stick salted butter, cold, cut into small pieces

5-6 TBS. ice water

1 1/3 c. brown rice flour

1 1/3 c. spelt flour

Filling

½ c. brown sugar

¼ c. + 1 TBS. brown rice flour

5-6 Granny Smith apples, cleaned, pealed, and cored

4 TBS. flour

¼ t. ground allspice

1 t. ground cinnamon

1.5 t. vanilla extract

2.5 t. lemon Juice

Topping

¾ c. brown rice flour

½ c. light brown sugar

1.5 ts. ground cinnamon

1 stick salted butter, cold, cut into small cubes

In a medium bowl, pour all ingredients for crust. Using a pastry cutter or knife (or food processor if you have one), cut and blend dough together until the pieces are pea-sized.

Roll dough into a ball and wrap in parchment paper. Refrigerate for 40 minutes (or until use).

On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough 1-inch thick in diameter.

Carefully place dough in either an aluminum pie or a standard pie pan, lightly pushing the sides against the pan’s surface until covered. Place pie crust in fridge.

In a medium bowl, add apples, spices, flour, lemon juice and sugar in a large bowl and stir together until combined.

Remove pie crust from fridge. Pour in apples.

In another bowl, mix flour, butter brown sugar and cinnamon. Using pastry cutter or knife, cut butter mixture in small pea-sized pieces.

Preheat oven to 375°F degrees.

Sprinkle and evenly spread butter crumble over apple filling.

Bake 25-30 minutes until filling is bubbly and golden.

Remove pie from oven and let cool before serving.

© 2017 • CoffeeCupcakesKafka

 

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Apple Crumb Pie

Leave a Reply

